"GTL wins a Soccer Championship" SportzVillage SoccerFest, Mumbai

Last weekend (31st Jan'04 and 1st Feb'04), was no ordinary weekend at the Fr. Agnel Football ground. 12 teams, 120 men, together for one cause...Soccer!

GTL had 2 equally strong teams competing at this championship. Considering the fact that after the first match played by both our teams; all predicted a GTL A V/s GTL B final.

Needless to say, GTL A and GTL B finished as the top 2 teams at the end of the League Phase.

Though both teams had the same goal difference, GTL A scored more goals while GTL B had the unique honor of not conceding a single goal till the end of the League Phase. At the end of the Championships, GTL emerged winners.

GTL Teams

Team A Team B (Winners)

Samuel Bangera (Captain) Rohit Seshadri (Captain)

Pio Mendonca David Furtado George Siskin David Ross

Sheldon Mcleod Marian Fernandes

Dylan Cardoz Satish Nair Rex Fernandes Elton D'costa

Naveen Nair Sidney (Siddharth)
Elton Gomez Patrick Fernandes
Sandeep Dubey Mark Noronha
Blasco D'costa Shrijit Nair

Kavan Audich

The winners at the Soccer Fest Finals:



Standing I to r: David Furtado, Siddharth, Shrijit Nair, Mark Noronha, Elton D'Costa, Marian Fernandes, Satish Nair
Sitting I to r: Patrick Fernandes, Rohit Seshadri (Captain), David Ross

THE FINAL SCORE

GTL B V/s I-flex: 2-1

OTHER FEATHERS IN OUR CAP...

Man of the Match for GTL A - Sheldon Mcleod 2 times Man of the Match for GTL B - Marian Fernandes Man of the Tournament - Rohit Seshadri Ball Control Contest - Sandeep Dubey and Blasco D'costa